748 rear sprocket

Hi,

I am new to Ducati so sorry in advance if this is a stupid question. Giving the bike a once over, I came to the rear end and on checking the chain I found that the rear sprocket moves as if it were loose, I tighten or tried to tighten the nuts facing me on the sprocket but they were tight. Is this right or do I need to do so work on it first.

Thanks Eddie.

Welcome to the world of Cush-drive rubbers, aftermarket sprocket carriers, bushes and circlips.
Model and year information is useful, pictures even more so.

Cush drive rubbers can fail and are not too difficult to replace as long as you have a big socket (and bar) to take the centre nut off.
There should be enough slack in the chain to remove the sprocket and carrier intact if you turn the eccentric adjuster right to the front.

Thereafter it depends if you have a standard sprocket or an aftermarket carrier setup, the most common aftermarket ones are Talon and Renthal.

On earlier (Pre 99 ish) bikes the alloy centre that the sprocket is bolted to was a single piece and the sprocket was retained at the back by a large steel circlip sitting in a groove in the alloy centre and over a period of time the steel circlip wears away the alloy, the groove becomes wider and the sprocket can move towards and way from the swingarm.
Later alloy centres are not as deep and have a separate piece of harder material behind instead of the circlip, to prevent this problem, and some of the aftermarket sprocket carriers have various design features which, if they are badly worn, may be causing the movement you have.

Could be an easy fix, could cost a few quid, but you knew that when you bought a Ducati didn’t you? :smiley: