Ducati 748 info required

Hi everyone. I am thinking about buying a 748 Ducati, Circa 2000 onwards. I would like to cut through all the BS i keep reading and hear from actual owners as to reliability/ownership etc. Are they as troublesome as some people would have you believe ? I hear that the rockers can start flaking and damage the camshafts. They stop in the rain, and won’t even start when it turns damp.
So, i want the “skinny” from people that actually own them and not some fictitious story from someone that has never owned one.

I’m not looking for a daily driver, just a play thing that i can use to go out for reasonable length rides when the need arises. I understand they aren’t tourers of long distance machines, but i don’t want to be dumped by the roadside whenever i want to do a 200 mile ride.
I am a mechanic by trade, so most jobs on the bike wouldn’t bother me.
What do i look for when buying one ?
Your comments would be appreciated.

Well i guess no one has one, or are too embarrassed about talking about reliability ?

As far as I know the 2000 and newer do not have the flaky rocker issue that afflicted earlier bikes (certainly up to and including my 1998 916).

If it has standard footpegs and the ends are scraped it has been dropped unless the previous owner was called Fogarty or Hodgson.
There is a small locating peg on the handlebar clamp and if this has torn away at its groove in the top yoke the bike has probably been dropped.

Wiring from generator to rectifier is suspect on the earlier 2-wire models, the later 3-wire ones are generally OK but check the plug near the rectifier for signs of overheating. Common cures are cutting wires back to the alternator and replacing with thicker wire, also cutting the plug out and soldering the joint to the rectifier is useful.