Electrex RR51/900SS

My first post on this forum.

I am in the middle of an on-going battle with Electrex as I purchased a new regulator/rectifier last year and cannot get it to work. Apparently this is not uncommon. Any experiences of other members would be very helpful.

Just to mention that the bike (1980 900SS bevel) DOES run with the old reg/rec fitted, but the battery does not charge. All other systems are in good working order (including electrics).

I am going to cover myself by putting this post on the Technical Help section too.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Hugh

Hi again Hugh,
I’ve been running one on my old bevel for 2 or 3 years now with no problems,
I’ve also got one on my 851/916 special again I can report no problems.
Are you sure the alternator and the wires coming from it are OK, the bike should run without one fitted until the battery runs out.
I’ve not heard a bad word about them.
I did suspect a problem once and they sent me another one FOC, it turned out that it wasn’t at fault so I’ve now got a spare and this was more than a year after I’d bought it!

Steve Robins

Hi Steve - great to hear from you!

I have spoken to John Fallon who doesn’t rate them for bevels, but perhaps you could tell me how to test the alternator - I am crap at electrics!!

As I mentioned, the bike runs fine but no output to the battery.

If it is the bike, I feel egg approaching my face! :cry:

Regards

Hugh

Hugh,
You need a multimeter set to DC Volts in the range of 10v upwards, the battery should show around 12.5 at rest.
When the the bikes running it should rise to around 14.5v, if it keeps on rising the regs not working,
If it doesn’t rise then your alternator or its wires are at fault.
The original wires were a bit undersized, also not very good quality, they can melt the insulation and short together.