Recomended Engine Oil Darmah SD900

Guys any recomendation for oil type eg fully sen 10w/50 or a non mineral type for my Darmah, going to start communiting on her, so want to get a goodin
Kiwi

I would use Chatsworth 40 (or similar monograde SAE40)(or 50 if your running it in hot climates), I have used 20/50 in the past but only use 40 grade now and change it regularly, everyone in the know I’ve spoken to recommends it, Paul Klatkiewicz being one of them.

I’m not an expert on the subject, but I’m told that modern semi & fully synthetic oils contain more aggressive detergents that don’t suit older engines and the molecular make-up of modern oils again suit high tolerance engines which rely on oil pressure for their big ends etc, where the bevel engine has a low pressure oil system and roller bearing big ends & crank suited to mineral type oils…… I think.

NOOOOOOOOO!

Not a Bevel oil thread yet again…
Get your tin hats on lads. :laughing:
I’m not getting involved in this, a search of the forum should point you in the right direction mate.

I think what Kevin meant to say was monograde oils and not ‘mineral’ oils at the end of his post.
Bevel motors are very happy to run on Castrol R, which’s a Vegetable based oil but it’s a monograde.
Other than that Kev’s advice is pretty good IMO.
Oooops I’ve already started to join in.

Steve R

SAE 50 changed every 1000 miles. Thats what I use, it avoids any trouble with other Bevel owners…

cool thanks, will say no more, BTW i did do the search first but was unable to find the detail. if u have a link with furthur detail post it here and I will follow it through :slight_smile:

Hi Kiwibiker,
On No account should you ever start an oil thread with Bevel owners…
Major Wars have been started for less!

Both Keef and Kev have given good advice though IMO.
If really pushed I’ll tell you that I use Rock Oil TRM in my ‘slightly modified’ '79 900SS changed every 1000 miles.